Manage email workgroups

Workgroups are useful for organizing users into categories.

Viewing workgroups in the Control Panel

1. In the Email section of the Control Panel, click the Email Domains tab.

2. Click the domain whose workgroups you want to view and then click the Workgroups tab.
The Email Workgroups page appears.

This page lists the workgroups in this domain, along with the number of users and the number of mailbox, forward, and filter accounts that are in each workgroup.

Assigning a workgroup administrator in the Control Panel

Since each workgroup can have its own administrator, you can delegate workgroup-level administration tasks by assigning an administrator to a workgroup.

To assign an administrator to a workgroup

1. Locate the user that you want to administer the workgroup.
For more information, see "Viewing Email user accounts"

2. Click the user name.

3. In the Mailbox User section, verify that this user is a member of the workgroup to be administrated. If not, click Edit and from the Workgroup drop-down list, choose the workgroup that you want this user to administer, and then click Save.

4. From the Actions drop-down list, choose Change Admin Level.

5. From the Role drop-down list, choose Workgroup.

6. Click Save.

Creating a new workgroup in the Control Panel

1. In the Email section of the Control Panel, click the Email Domains tab.

2. Click the domain for which you want to create a new workgroup.

3. Click the Workgroups tab.

4. Click the plus sign.
The Add a Workgroup page appears.

5. In the Workgroup field, enter a name for the new workgroup, and then click Add.
The new workgroup appears in the list of existing workgroups.

Adding users to a workgroup in the Control Panel

1. Locate the user that you want to add to the workgroup.
For more information, see "Viewing Email user accounts"

2. Click the user name

3. In the Mailbox User section, click Edit.

4. From the Workgroup drop-down list, select the workgroup to which you want this user to belong.

5. Click Save.

Removing users from a workgroup in the Control Panel

There are two ways to remove a user from a workgroup:

  • Assign the user to a different workgroup.
    For more information, see “Adding users to a workgroup” above.
  • Delete the user from the system.
    For more information, see "Deleting user accounts".

Deleting workgroups in the Control Panel

You can delete any workgroup except the domain's default workgroup. When the domain is first created, the default workgroup is set to staff.

We recommend that you move all of the users out of the workgroup before you delete the workgroup.

To delete a workgroup

1. In the Email section of the Control Panel, click the Email Domains tab.

2. Click the domain that contains the workgroup you want to delete.

3. Click the Workgroups tab.

4. Click the checkbox next to each of the workgroups that you want to delete; only the workgroups with checkmarks will be deleted.

5. Click the Delete Workgroup icon.

Deleting workgroups in the Control Panel

A dialog box appears that asks you to confirm that you want to delete the selected workgroups.

6. Click Delete.

Viewing workgroups in the MAC

The Workgroup page displays a list of all the workgroups in a domain. You can click on any column heading to reorder the workgroups based on that column.

To view workgroups

1. Log in to the Mail Administration Console (MAC).
For more information, see "What is the MAC?"

2. Set the current domain to the domain whose workgroups you want to view.

3. In the navigation pane, under the domain name, click Workgroups.
The Domain page appears displaying the Workgroups tab:

 

Viewing workgroups in the MAC

 

This page lists the workgroups in this domain, along with the number of users and the number of mailbox, forward, and filter accounts that are in each workgroup. This page is your starting point for performing workgroup-level administrative tasks.

Assigning a workgroup administrator in the MAC

Since each workgroup can have its own administrator, you can delegate workgroup-level administration tasks by assigning an administrator to a workgroup.

To assign an administrator to a workgroup

1. Log in to the Mail Administration Console (MAC).
For more information, see "What is the MAC?"

2. Locate the user that you want to administer the workgroup. For more information, see “Searching in the Mail Administration Console (MAC)”.

3. Click the user name.

4. In the Basic Settings section, in the Workgroup field, verify that this user is a member of the workgroup to be administrated.

5. In the Admin section, from the Admin Role drop-down list, choose Workgroup.

6. Click Update.

Creating a new workgroup in the MAC

Every new domain automatically includes one default workgroup called staff. You can create additional workgroups for any domain.

To create a workgroup

1. Log in to the Mail Administration Console (MAC).
For more information, see "What is the MAC?"

2. Set the current domain.

3. In the navigation pane, under the domain name, click Add Workgroup.
The Create Workgroup page appears.

Creating a new workgroup in the MAC

4. In the Workgroup field, enter a name for the new workgroup, and then click Create.
The new workgroup appears in the list of existing workgroups.

Adding users to a workgroup in the MAC

To add a user to a workgroup

1. Log in to the Mail Administration Console (MAC).
For more information, see "What is the MAC?"

2. Locate the user that you want to add to a workgroup.
For more information, see “Searching in the Mail Administration Console (MAC)”.

3. Click the user name.

4. In the Basic Settings section, from the Workgroup drop-down list, select the workgroup to which you want this user to belong.

5. Click Update.

Deleting workgroups in the MAC

You can delete any workgroup except the domain's default workgroup. When the domain is first created, the default workgroup is set to staff.

We recommend that you move all of the users out of the workgroup before you delete the workgroup.

To delete a workgroup

1. Log in to the Mail Administration Console (MAC).
For more information, see "What is the MAC?"

2. Set the domain to the one whose workgroups you want to delete.

3. In the navigation pane, click Workgroups.
The Workgroups page appears.

4. Click the checkbox next to each of the workgroups that you want to delete; only the workgroups with checkmarks will be deleted. The number on the Delete Selected button changes to reflect the number of workgroups that you selected.

5. Click Delete Selected.
A dialog box appears that asks you to confirm that you want to delete the selected workgroups.

6. Optionally, in the Delete Workgroups dialog, click the checkbox to select the Cascade option, which deletes any users that are in the workgroup. If you don't select this option, and there are users in the workgroup, the delete operation will fail.

7. Click Delete.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk