GeoTrust, Symantec, and TRUSTe offer 30 day free trials for the following Trust Service products:
- GeoTrust True BusinessID with EV
- Symantec SecureSite, Secure Site Pro, Secure Site with EV, and Secure Site Pro with EV
Note: Free trials are not available for SAN products.
Customers who order the free trial are not charged when they place the order for the product and they can cancel at any time before the 30 days is up without incurring a charge. The full price of the product is displayed in the Control Panel, but the charge is not applied until the end of the 30 day period. During the free trial period, a CANCEL FREE TRIAL button is displayed on the product page, so that the product order can be cancelled at any time during that period.
If the customer does not cancel the order before the end of the 30 day free trial, they are automatically charged for the term that they selected when they placed the order. There are no notification emails or requests for confirmation. The expiry date is calculated from the date that the paid term begins, not the date that the free trial began. The product status changes to Product - Activated, and a new order is automatically created.
Note: When taking advantage of the free trial period, the term that can be selected for the Symantec products and for GeoTrust True BusinessID with EV is restricted to one year; TRUSTe products can be ordered for one, two, or three year terms.
The order process is the same whether you choose the free trial period of not.
Cancelling an order during the free trial period
You can cancel a completed free trial order any time before the end of the 30 day period without incurring a charge.
Note: When you cancel a free trial, you will not be able to re-submit an order with the same supplier for that domain until 30 days have passed.
To cancel an order during the free trial period
- In the Control Panel, click Trust.
- Click the domain name of the product that you want to cancel.
You may see multiple entries for the same domain; be sure to click one that displays Product - Activated in the Status column.
- In the Status section, click Cancel Free Trial.
The order is marked as Declined and the product is marked as Revoked.
For GeoTrust and Symantec, the customer is sent an email containing a link to click to approve the revoke; for TRUSTe, the cancellation is automatic.